Kitsap Soccer Club Joins the NPSL

The National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) is proud to announce that Kitsap Soccer Club (Bremerton, WA) has joined the league as an expansion team.  The club will compete in the West Region’s Northwest Conference.

“We enthusiastically welcome Kitsap Soccer Club to the National Premier Soccer League,” NPSL Chairman Joe Barone commented. “We look forward to their contributions in the Northwest as we continue to grow and support the sport in this region.”

Kitsap Soccer Club is led by owner Robin Waite, head coach Cameron MacDonald, assistant coach Shaun Scobie, performance analyst Keith Sargent, and goalkeeper coach Liviu Bird.  

Waite is a life-long soccer fan, a former co-owner of the USL Seattle Sounders, and is widely known for his expertise in stadium development and construction with a background in commercial real estate. He is a firm believer is promoting the Kitsap Peninsula and strongly supports the community in which he lives.

Kings of the NPSL: The Royals Rise to Earn Their First Star

Vinny Bell

by Carlos D. Mojica () Photo by Richard Kruszynski/NPSL

Before a sold out crowd of 2,205 fans, AFC Cleveland twice rallied from being a goal down to defeat Sonoma County Sol and win the NPSL National Championship on Saturday night. Braces by Varnadore and Vinny Bell kept the team level for most of the match before goals by Antonio Manfut and Ryder Bell in the dying minutes of the game made it 4-2 in favor of the hosts.

“It’s surreal, it’s crazy. I can’t even believe it. Mikey [Derezic] asked me if this is real. I told him ‘I’ll tell you tomorrow when I wake up’,” said an ecstatic Carter Poe, AFC Cleveland’s Head Coach.

The game was much closer than the final score would lead one to believe, and it lived up to everything a final should be. In fact, Sonoma County were the better team early on, as the Californians applied constant pressure to the Royals, forcing them into making sloppy passes.

The visitors opened up the scoring in the 15th minute, when Taylor Varnadore headed the ball in off a corner kick to give his team the lead. Down early on for the second match in a row, AFC Cleveland regrouped and began to take control of the match, stringing together more passes and retaining more possession.

In the 32nd minute, Vinny Bell received the ball and went on a counterattack. In an amazing solo effort, the veteran took on the entire Sonoma County defense before sliding the ball past goalkeeper Sean Taufer to tie things up for the Royals. Varnadore attempted another header in a counterattack of his own a minute later, but it went wide of the mark.

Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Reveals 2016 Format & Schedule

Kansas City won US Open Cup 2015

Record Number of Teams Will Compete in Oldest Cup Competition in U.S. Soccer; 
First Round of Tournament Set For May 11; Final to Take Place Sept. 21

CHICAGO (Feb. 5, 2016) - Entering its 103rd year of competition, the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is set to kick off the 2016 tournament on May 11 and will feature a tiered-bracket and single-game knockout format, with a record number of teams participating.

As in 2015, teams will be paired geographically from the First Round through the Fourth Round. After the Fourth Round, a geographically-based random draw will take place to determine the Round of 16 matchups and set a fixed bracket to the Final, scheduled for Sept. 21.

This year's U.S. Open Cup features 92 teams, a record in the tournament's modern era (1995 to present). Berths for teams from the Open Division, which includes clubs from all leagues other than Division I, II and III outdoor professional leagues, have expanded from the 36 announced last September to a modern era-record 48 as a result of the number of First Round places available after slotting Division I, II and III teams into later rounds.

The Third Qualifying Round, which was set to take place April 2-3, is now eliminated due to the expansion of berths for Open Division sides. Teams from local qualifying have been awarded six new slots, allowing all 14 clubs still alive in this qualifying track to be placed directly into the First Round.

Additionally, four new berths have been awarded to the Premier Development League (PDL), a nationwide amateur league, giving it 19 total teams in the competition, while the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL), another nationwide amateur league, has been awarded two additional slots to reach 15 participating teams.

New York Cosmos B Crowned 2015 NPSL National Champions

New York Cosmos B Crowned 2015 NPSL National Champions

The New York Cosmos B were crowned 2015 NPSL National Champions with a 3-2 win over Chattanooga FC in front of a record-breaking crowd of 18,227.

The Cosmos B were paced by a brace from midfielder Ibrahim Diaby and a single goal from midfielder Julian Stahler. “Collectively we all put in the work,” Diaby commented. “That’s what we do every day in practice and today it showed.  I’m truly excited and grateful.”

The game was evenly matched and remained scoreless until a 44th minute goal from Diaby put the Cosmos B up 1-0.  Chattanooga would bring things even at 1-1 in the 68th minute thanks to a goal from veteran striker Chris Ochieng.  That scoreline remained the same after 90 minutes. 

Diaby, who would be named PUMA Player of the Game, would get his second goal early in extra time, pushing the visitors up 2-1 before Stahler added his own to make it 3-1 in the 105th minute.